PLDI 2011 is the 32nd ACM SIGPLAN conference on Programming Language Design and Implementation.


About PLDI

PLDI is a forum where researchers, developers, educators, and practitioners exchange information on the latest practical and experimental work in the design and implementation of programming languages.

PLDI seeks original research papers that focus on the design, implementation, development, and use of programming languages.

PLDI emphasizes innovative and creative approaches to compile-time and runtime technology; novel language designs and features; and results from implementations.


Papers are solicited for, but not limited to, the following:

  • Language designs and extensions
  • Static and dynamic analysis of programs
  • Domain-specific languages and tools
  • Type systems and program logics
  • Program transformation and optimization
  • Checking or improving the security or correctness of programs
  • Memory management
  • Parallelism, both implicit and explicit
  • Performance analysis, evaluation, and tools
  • Novel programming models
  • Debugging techniques and tools
  • Program understanding
  • Interaction of compilers/runtimes with underlying systems
  • Program synthesis

Special PLDI reception

There will be a special reception for PLDI attendees Sunday, June 5th from 7:30pm - 9:30pm directly following the Turing Award lecture.

Program and schedule

A detailed schedule is available.

Travel support grants

Students can receive a travel award to attend PLDI '11. There are several sources of funding, but all will be distributed through the SIGPLAN professional activities committee (PAC) awards system. The application form can be found at:

A SIGPLAN PAC Award is funded by SIGPLAN and its industrial supporters for students who have a paper or poster at PLDI'11 or its co-located events.

A PLDI'11 Travel Award, through the generous support of the National Science Foundation, funds other student travel with the goal of expanding the PLDI community. You do not need to have a paper at the conference to receive a PLDI'11 Travel Award. Students receiving these funds will be asked to share additional information with the NSF.

SIGPLAN also has funds for

  • child-care travel support
  • companion travel
  • long distance international travel

The details on these programs can also be found at the SIGPLAN PAC website.


This year, there are five co-located workshops and six co-located tutorials.

Saturday, 4 June 2011

Start: 8:30 AM
End: 12:00 PM
X10 Workshop POLV Tutorial Chord Tutorial
Start: 1:30 PM
End: 5:00 PM
VELOX Tutorial McLab Tutorial ArBB Tutorial

Sunday, 5 June 2011

Start: 8:30 AM
End: 12:00 PM
PLAS Workshop MSPC Workshop EVALUATE Workshop EXADAPT Workshop
Start: 1:30 PM
End: 5:00 PM
CCTPL Tutorial


General Chair Mary Hall, Utah
Program Chair David Padua, UIUC
Program Committee Saman Amarasinghe, MIT
Andrew W. Appel, Princeton
Michael Burke, Rice
John Cavazos, U. of Delaware
Albert Cohen, INRIA
Amer Diwan, U. of Colorado
Evelyn Duesterwald, IBM Research
Michael Franz, UC Irvine
David Gregg, Trinity College Dublin
Thomas Gross, ETH Zurich
Manuel Hermenegildo, IMDEA and UPM
Suresh Jagannathan, Purdue University
Mahmut Kandemir, Penn. State
Ulrich Kremer, Rutgers
Viktor Kuncak, EPFL
James Larus, Microsoft Research
Ben Livshits, Microsoft Research
Kathryn S. McKinley, UT Austin
Greg Morrisett, Harvard
Jens Palsberg, UCLA
Keshav Pingali, UT Austin
Andreas Podelski, Freiburg
Sriram Rajamani, Microsoft Research
John Reppy, U. Chicago
Atanas Rountev, Ohio State University
Armando Solar-Lezama, MIT
Michelle Mills Strout, Colorado State
Frank Tip, IBM Research
Peng Tu, Intel
Christoph von Praun, Georg-Simon-Ohm University
Peng Wu, IBM Research

External Review Commitee

 Vikram Adve, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
 Amal Ahmed, Indiana University
 George Almasi, IBM Research
 Lennart Augustsson, Standard Chartered Bank
 Denis Barthou, University of Bordeaux
 Guy Blelloch, Carnegie Mellon University
 Matthias Blume, Google
 Michael Bond, Ohio State University
 Martin Burtscher, Texas State University-San Marcos
 Luis Ceze, University of Washington
 Craig Chambers, Google
 Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University
 William Cook, The University of Texas at Austin
 Keith Cooper, Rice University
 Patrick Cousot, École Normale Supérieure, Paris and Courant Institute, New York University
 Ron Cytron, Washington University
 Rudolf Eigenmann, Purdue University
 Paul Feautrier, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
 Jeff Foster, University of Maryland, College Park
 Pascal Fradet, INRIA Rhône-Alpes
 Roberto Giacobazzi, University of Verona
 Neal Glew, Intel
 Kevin Hammond, University of St Andrews
 Tim Harris, Microsoft Research
 Ranjit Jhala, UC San Diego
 Chandra Krintz, UC Santa Barbara
 Milind Kulkarni, Purdue University
 Monica Lam, Stanford University
 Jaejin Lee, Seoul National University
 Jenq-Kuen Lee, National Tsing Hua University
 Zhiyuan Li, Purdue University
 Guei-Yuan Lueh, Intel
 Rupak Majumdar, MPI-SWS and UCLA
 Samuel Midkiff, Purdue University
 Nick Mitchell, IBM Research
 Anders Møller, Aarhus University
 J. Eliot B. Moss, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
 Hanspeter Mössenböck, Johannes Kepler University Linz
 Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge
 Yunheung Paek, Seoul National University
 Sanjay Rajopadhye, Colorado State University
 Lakshminarayanan Renganarayana, IBM Research
 Martin Rinard, MIT
 Anne Rogers, University of Chicago
 Grigore Rosu, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
 Andrey Rybalchenko, Technische Universität München
 P. Sadayappan, Ohio State University
 Michael L. Scott, University of Rochester
 Peter Stuckey, University of Melbourne
 Don Syme, Microsoft Research
 William Thies, Microsoft Research, India
 Mahesh Viswanathan, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
 David S. Warren, Stony Brook University
 Stephanie Weirich, University of Pennsylvania
 Chengyong Wu, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
 Youfeng Wu, Intel Labs
 Greta Yorsh, IBM Research

Corporate support